Dude Looks Like a Lady

Rebecca Ahn
6 min readJan 19, 2011

Man, I feel good. Like really good. It’s pretty hard to believe, but maybe all I needed was one awesome weekend throwing my body down a mountain of snow to finally wake up and see it. Life doesn’t have to be that complicated.

Photo by David Klein on Unsplash

I’m sure some will think I’m talking loco. Or just saying this to justify being lazy. But that day, I felt like I’d finally discovered the secret to having it all.

There I was, strapping into my bindings at the top of Squaw’s Emigrant lift, looking out over a sight so beautiful it took my breath away. How can I be amidst such simple beauty and not appreciate the beautiful simplicity of life? And I realized I could live my life more simply too.

Okay so that’s not exactly how that realization came about. How it actually occurred to me was even simpler than that.

Here’s how it really happened.

The actual moment hit me while taking a lunch break between runs at the Gold Coast café, midway up the mountain, with the seven guys I’d been racing down the mountain with all morning. The best part of that day wasn’t the beautiful snow-covered scenery, or the feel of my board’s smooth carving, or even the sweet sweet powder into which I ate it later that afternoon.

No, the best part was spending that lunch break nerding out about the delicious…

--

--

Rebecca Ahn

Writer • Wanderer • Warrior | toughcookietravel.comamazon.com/dp/B00F2AK2VKrebeccaahn.com | Sharing stories that empower others to survive and thrive